What does document Lock (Check-out) mean in MangoApps?

If you want to make changes to your MangoApps document and you want to make sure no one else can edit it, lock (check out) the file/document. When you have the file checked out, you can edit it online, and save it—multiple times, if necessary. Once the lock is released, they can continue saving their changes online.

Document lock a.k.a checked Out: When a file/document is checked out to a user, that user can work on that file/document, and other users cannot. Other users must wait for the user to check in the item or file again (that is, perform a check-in) before they can edit the file/document. While the file/document is checked out, other users usually can see only the last version that was checked in; they can’t see the changes that the current user has made on the file while it’s been checked out.

New Document creation and auto acquiring the LOCK

After enabling the Office Plugin, whenever you create a new document using the Microsoft Office (Word, PowerPoint, Excel) and save that created the document to your MangoApps repository, the logged in user by default gets the document LOCK and the that user’s changes gets recorded in the document.

A short video showing the new document creation flow

Opening an existing document and acquiring the LOCK

After enabling the Office Plugin, whenever you try to open any existing MangoApps document and if that document is not in open state or checked out by any other user, the logged in user by default gets the document LOCK and the that user’s changes gets recorded in the document.

A short video showing the new document creation flow

Opening an existing document and knowing that somebody already acquired the  LOCK

Whenever you try to open any existing MangoApps document and if that document is already opened or checked out any other user, then upon opening the document the logged in user shown with this information and the user can request (via sending an instant message) to unlock the document.

A short video showing, how the logged in user know about the document lock and when the document is unlocked by another user, the logged in user can make changes to the document.

(Visited 435 times, 1 visits today)